My baby turned 2 today. Not sure how I feel about that just yet. On one hand I am thrilled to be one day closer to being diaper free (whoot! whoot!). On the other hand….my BABY turned 2!

I’m the first to jump in, if it hasn’t become painfully obvious just yet, and blabber on about the trials and tribulations of motherhood. A more difficult job you will never find. On top of that we mother’s have to listen to everybody else tell us how we should be raising our kids and what disciplinary techniques we should employ (in comes Nanny 911). I have a dear friend who will appreciate THIS reference – HI’YA CL! There really is no more thankless and underappreciated job than motherhood. But, there is a reward, besides that of seeing our children grow into self-supporting, respectful adults. It’s a reward that will be a long time coming but when it comes it will be SWEET! “Mom, you were right. Mom, how’d you DO it?”. I know this because its the reward my Mom received when I had my own children.

There is some mourning in seeing my son reach the milestone age of 2. I’ll never bring another little newborn baby home again. I’ll never feel that soft little body melding into mine. I’ll never again experience that first real smile or that first real hug or those first steps. Call me wierd but I loved watching all my babies poo. It was like watching playdoh being squeezed through a mold. Kinda cool!

On the other hand, I will never miss childbirth, afterbirth, beforebirth or any other event including the word “birth”. I won’t miss my uterus frantically trying in vain to return to its normal size. Neither will I miss the pelvic exercises and desperate attempts to not pee myself while my bladder returns to its former shape.

I guess you could say it’s a bittersweet occasion but really there’s a whole lot more sweetness than bitterness. I’ve got years left to watch him grow and mature. It’s been a real journey up to this point and I am looking forward to the journey ahead of me and of him.

First though, I have to survive a little thing called potty training!

