'Migrant Mother, Nipomo, California'

Image by National Media Museum via Flickr

Here I am, writing this, my first blog, for the second time after my son pulled the cord out of the computer.  Should I have expected anything else?  I’m quite disappointed as I thought the first one was quite witty and I don’t remember what I wrote! 

Ah well, this is my first foray into the world of blogging and I really don’t have a clue what I’m doing.  I had no intention of starting a blog until, out of complete frustration, I took to the world wide web looking for someone, anyone, who might be talking about motherhood.  More to the point, anyone who might seem to dislike this job called motherhood as much as I do (at least this week anyway) and I found her: Redhead Ranting.  After a couple of emails back and forth and some encouragement and advice from her I decided to give it a go, blogging that is.  Why? because while being a mother is the greatest experience on Earth, the job of motherhood really sucks.  We mothers need a place to vent without judgment from our peers, many of whom want to continue spreading the word that being a mother is the single greatest thing in the universe.  Well, to be honest, some parts of it are just that wonderful.  But those parts can be hard to remember amidst dirty diapers, spilled juice, sibling rivalry, bed wetting, nasty mouths and temper tantrums.  Throw in very little sleep and you  have a crazed, zombie like monster called Mom trying to survive this journey called motherhood. 

So, is anybody out there? can you hear me?

